Covid-19: Morocco suspends air connections with 13 other countries

Covid-19: Morocco suspends air connections with 13 other countries

The Moroccan authorities have decided to suspend flights to and from 13 other countries, as of this Friday, April 16.


On Thursday April 15, the National Airports Office (ONDA) announced that flights to and from 13 countries will be suspended as of Friday April 16, 2021 until further notice.


The decision is part of the country’s approach to fighting the spread of COVID-19.


The National Airports Office (ONDA) published the full list of these countries, which includes Albania, Hungary, Bulgaria, Luxembourg, Serbia, Romania, and Slovakia.


The list also includes Cyprus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, and Slovenia.


The announcement comes just days after Morocco suspended air connections with Tunisia.

Moroccan authorities have also decided to ban entry to passengers traveling from these countries via other destinations.


With these 13 new countries, the list of countries with which air traffic is suspended reaches 53 countries.


The flight suspensions are part of Morocco’s state of emergency, in force since March 2020. The measure allows authorities to take preventive actions to limit the spread of COVID-19.

Under the measure, Morocco also decided to maintain the night curfew during Ramadan and increased restrictions after the Health Ministry announced the increase in COVID-19 cases and variants in several regions across the country.


Morocco has so far recorded 504,260 confirmed COVID-19 cases, including 490,366 recoveries, and 8,927 fatalities.


Share This