Morocco to re-open airports to international flights on June 15

Morocco to re-open airports to international flights on June 15

Morocco will re-open its airports to international flights on June 15 as it continues a steady vaccination campaign in tandem with a careful lifting of measures to curb the spread of the virus.

All Moroccan and foreign travelers have to submit either a proof of vaccination against coronavirus or a negative PCR test no older than 48 hours in order to be let into the country, the foreign ministry said.

The measure aims to facilitate the return of Moroccans residing abroad to their homeland, the ministry said, adding that “this operation will take place in accordance with an approach that combines gradual opening – taking into account the evolution of the national and international epidemiological situation – and preservation of the gains made by Morocco to curb the spread of the coronavirus.”

Morocco also decided to maintain cooperation with the same French and Italian ports as last year for the operation Marhaba 2021 to ensure the return of Moroccans living in Europe for summer vacation.

This means that the return of MRE by boat will be made exclusively from the French ports of Marseille and Sète, in addition to the Italian port of Genoa. The Spanish ports of Algeciras, Tarifa and Malaga are excluded from the Marhaba operation.

In addition to the PCR test presented during boarding, passengers will also undergo another test onboard to ensure maximum health security.

However, nationals and residents of a list of countries, called the B list, where the pandemic is uncontrolled and statistics are lacking shall need to provide an exceptional travel permit and stay in isolation for 10 days, the statement said.

The B list includes Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Benin, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Cameroun, Cap Verde, Chili, Colombia, The Congo, Congo (DRC), Cuba, Eswatini, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kenya,Kuwait, Lesotho, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritius, Mexico, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Oman, Uganda, Pakistan, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Qatar, Central African Republic, North Korea, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, South Sudan, Syria, Tanzania, Chad, Thailand, Togo, The UAE, Ukraine, Uruguay, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Morocco has recently shortened its night curfew which now starts at 23:00 and ends at 4:00 am and eased restrictive measures including the re-opening of theatres and cinemas at half capacity, and the organization of parties and weddings.


Morocco has also set up a vaccination pass for people who have received the two doses of the Covid-19 vaccine. The pass allows its holder to travel freely throughout the national territory, to go out during the curfew hours and to travel abroad.


Morocco stands out in Africa as the country which has administered most doses. It has given so far 15 million doses as it opened vaccination for people aged 40 years old.

Share This