Covid-19: Morocco suspends air links with six other countries

Covid-19: Morocco suspends air links with six other countries

Moroccan authorities have decided to temporarily suspend flights to and from six other countries, extending the list of countries with which air links have been banned, in order to limit the spread of COVID-19.

The six new countries added to this list are Poland, Norway, Finland, Greece, Lebanon, and Kuwait.


The suspension of air links with these six countries came into effect Monday March 8, 2021 at midnight, and will continue until March 21.


Passengers from these countries, in transit through another country, are also affected by this ban, says the National Airports Office (ONDA) on its Twitter account.

As of March 9, 2021, besides the six countries, the list thus includes Algeria, Egypt, United Kingdom, South Africa, Denmark, Brazil, Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Austria, Portugal, Sweden, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Turkey, Belgium, and Italy.


Despite the steady decrease of infection rates in Morocco, the government has extended the night curfew by two more weeks, starting March 02 at 09:00 p.m. and extended the state of emergency last week until April 10.


As of March 8, the number of COVID-19 cases reached 486,325, including 472,544 recoveries, and 8,683 deaths.

Share This