Moroccan Banks Vying for African Banker Awards 2017

Moroccan Attijariwafa Bank, la Caisse Centrale de Garantie and le Groupe Crédit Agricole du Maroc are among the major African banks vying for the 2017 African Banker Awards in various categories.

These Awards are hosted by the African Banker Magazine. The winners will be announced during a ceremony to be held during the Annual Meetings of the African Development Bank (AfDB) in Ahmedabad, India, on May 23.

The nominees for the award of African Bank of the Year are: Afreximbank, Attijariwafa Bank (Morocco), Guaranty Trust Bank (Nigeria), Mauritius Commercial Bank (Mauritius) and Standard Bank Group (South Africa).

The list of candidates for the “African Banker of the Year” includes Segun Agbaje, MD, GTB (Nigeria), Jeremy Awori, MD, Barclays Bank (Kenya), Dr Charles Kimei, MD, CRDB Bank (Tanzania), James Mwangi, Group MD and CEO, Equity Bank (Kenya), Joshua Nyamweya Olgara, Group CEO, KCB (Kenya) and Dr Benedict Okey Oramah, President, Afreximbank.

Competitors for the “Financial Inclusion Award” include African Local Currency Bond Fund, Amhara Credit and Savings Institution (Ethiopia), Business Development Fund (Rwanda), Caisse Centrale de Garantie (Morocco) and Verdant Capital (South Africa).

The nominees for the award of “Socially Responsible Bank of the Year” are East African Development Bank, EFG Hermes (Egypt), Guaranty Trust Bank (Nigeria), KCB Foundation (Kenya) and Groupe Crédit Agricole du Maroc (Morocco).

The African Bankers awards include several prizes for the best retail bank in Africa, the best investment bank, the best banking innovation, Deal of the Year (Debt/Equity/Infrastructure).

Five other categories including individual recognitions are chosen by multilateral agencies, international experts and the editorial board of African Banker.

These categories are Best Regional Banks in Africa (North/East/Southern/Central/West), Finance Minister of the Year, Central Bank Governor of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award, and African Banker Icon.

The nominees are selected by a panel of known and respected leaders in banking, finance and business.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

8 + thirteen =

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :