Egypt’s Mo Salah Crowned Player of the Year by UK’s Football Writers Association

Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah has been crowned Footballer of the Year for the 2017-18 season by the Football Writers’ Association (FWA) in the United Kingdom.

Born in 1992, the Liverpool forward battled off competition from Man City talisman Kevin De Bruyne and Tottenham striker Harry Kane. The 25-year-old is the first African player to win the FWA award, granted for the first time in 1948.

This season, the Egyptian King has scored 43 goals in 48 appearances, and registered 12 assists, exceeding all expectations of supporters.

Louis Suarez was the last Liverpool player to scoop the FWA award, taking home the prize after his equally astonishing displays in 2013/14.

Salah’s storming run to the top of world football could see him become the first star other than Ronaldo or Messi to pick up the Golden Ball since Brazilian midfielder Kaka, who won it all the way back in 2007.

Mo Salah and Cristiano Ronaldo are being banded around as the only two possible picks for this year’s Ballon d’Or due to their exploits in Europe and the sheer amount of goals they’ve scored.

Salah has already walked the PFA Player of the Year.

Hailing from the small town of Basyoun, more than 100 km from Egypt’s Cairo, Salah is revered by all Egyptians. Some say Egypt’s God is no longer Ra but Mo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

eleven − 11 =

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :